Trauma Therapy or Day 2 of The Rest of My Life.

therapy

I have a trauma counselling session at 1 o’clock this afternoon.

This is the first time that trauma-specific counselling has been available to me and it will be my first session after an initial assessment session with my counsellor two weeks ago.

Between 2002 and 2011, I had some four years of general psychotherapy/counselling. This took the form of a one year period with the same therapist, a two year period with another therapist and otherwise dribs and drabs of therapy with variously a CBT therapist, a psychologist, a Victim Support worker and a trainee therapist.

This trauma counselling is provided weekly via 50 minute telephone sessions by a voluntary sector organisation. Twelve sessions are offered, with the option to extend that period for up to 12 months if both parties are in agreement. After referring myself to the service, I waited a little over two months to be allocated a counsellor. I have been waiting since February of this year to be assessed for trauma therapy on the NHS, despite my then GP denoting my need URGENT.

 

2 thoughts on “Trauma Therapy or Day 2 of The Rest of My Life.

Leave a Reply

